From the Ridiculous to the Sublime


Eleven degrees out in the sun at five o’clock at night?
I found that I definitely hadn’t dressed myself quite right,
when I went out walking with my dog, Myschka
and I kinda wished I
hadna worn so many clothes!

It was one of those lovely days of Spring
when everything was pleasing, teasing.
Birds were singing,
bulbs were springing,
trees were sprouting.
How we enjoyed our outing!

How different from a week ago
when we were battling through the snow
and fighting biting winds that blow
from the North Pole, although
we still went where we had to go,
wrapped up in scarf, gloves and hat,
not stopping for a friendly chat,
with icicles forming on my nose.

That’s British weather I suppose!
From the ridiculous to the sublime.
Clouds have come back again in time
for our Sunday walk before brunch,
and we’ll be glad to warm up over lunch.
Then next week, down will come the rain
and we’ll know that we’re in April again!

Leave a comment