Abandonment ( A Golden Shovel Poem)


WP_20150306_18_50_19_ProABANDONMENT
Golden Shovel Poem

“What is this life if full of care
we have no time to stand and stare”.
(with apologies to W H Davies)

You left me with what
you seem to think is
going to help this
pain go away. My life
is totally meaningless if
you’re not here and my heart’s full
of misery because of
the thought that you don’t care.

I want to be with you
all the time and have
you sitting near me. No
treats can replace the time
you spend away from me to
go out. It is more than I can stand
waiting for your return and
all I can do is sit here and stare.

Another Doggy Ditty using my theme “Only Human” which I hope to be able to use throughout this April PAD.

http://www.writersdigest.com/whats-new/2015-april-pad-challenge-day-4/comment-page-11#comment-3529356

Here are the rules for the Golden Shovel:

  • Take a line (or lines) from a poem you admire.
  • Use each word in the line (or lines) as an end word in your poem.
  • Keep the end words in order.
  • Give credit to the poet who originally wrote the line (or lines).
  • The new poem does not have to be about the same subject as the poem that offers the end words.

If you pull a line with six words, your poem would be six lines long. If you pull a stanza with 24 words, your poem would be 24 lines long. And so on.

Leave a comment