Changes


Angels White Heaven seven weeks old

Angels White Heaven seven weeks old

A NEW HOME

That moment, when I was taken away from my mum
and bundled into a crate in the back of a car,
that moment I knew that my life was going to change.
I cried pitifully for my mum and my siblings.

Next moment, the car juddered, engine started to thrum,
the crate clattered, I cowered howling in the corner,
far, far away, until I ended up somewhere strange,
surrounded by different smells and exciting things.

That moment I knew that I had suddenly become
the centre of attention, Prima Donna, the Star,
and I decided that it had been a fair exchange
and that I would learn to enjoy my new surroundings.

And here I am one year later, with my human Mum,
loving a ride in my crate in the back of her car,
excited to go to strange new places for a change.
I cry no more for my doggy mum or my siblings.

http://www.writersdigest.com/whats-new/wednesday-poetry-prompts-309/comment-page-1#comment-3557886

 

Leave a Reply

